Recycle Day!

(please click on the above images to view them full size)

I thought today I would share one of my favorite places to go on Pender. You might have thought it would be one of the stunning beaches, but in fact it is the recycle depot. This has to be one of the funkiest places going. A mix of bright colors, bits and bobs tacked up everywhere, cool signs and friendly staff to help you out. You also have a pretty good chance of running into someone to visit with as well.

The bins are easily laid out making it easy to recycle almost anything. We can recycle many more items on the tiny island of Pender than we can in our Alberta city of 100,000 people. Great for Pender…..not so much for Alberta.

In addition to the recycling there is also a free store. If you don’t mind looking sometimes there are amazing finds. For instance if you happen to be a left-handed golfer you just might find some mint condition clubs……..my husband managed to do just that. I’ve found children’s lawn chairs that just needed a scrub, beach toys, and hundreds of rusted nails (I’m not insane, they are for a future art project!). My husband goes book shopping there as well and always seems to find two or three good reads.

The recycle depot also has a recycled bike shop where they fix up bikes and resell them. A pretty cool deal if you ask me.

I think every place needs a recycle depot like Pender has, it is a place that makes you want to recycle and look forward to recycling day.

About Deb

Photographer, artist and artisan splitting time between Alberta and British Columbia, Canada. Check out my new project at www.handmade-canada.com , a site for Canadian handmades and art.
This entry was posted in Island Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Recycle Day!

  1. Linda Cote says:

    I LOVE this concept. They also do this in Invermere, BC I am told. My son had a project for recycling in Grade 4 and wrote a concept like this for Canmore. I would love to see something like this go on here. We often see “perfectly good” (my son’s words) items next to the trash bins here, even though we have a wonderful thrift store. Love it, Deb!

    • Deb says:

      It is a great place. I don’t know if Canmore does this, but Red Deer started a “kick it to the curb” weekend which is a free-cycle weekend in the summer. Again a way to keep things out of the landfill.

Leave a Reply

