Setting Sun – Boat Nook, Pender Island

Boat Nook, Pender Island, BC, Canada

Our little outing to Boat Nook wasn’t really planned. We were out for a drive and our littlest fell asleep (thank goodness!!!). Our littlest has the personality of a bear being woken up early from hibernation if he doesn’t get a full nap so we needed to find somewhere to go while he slept. We had heard about Boat Nook, it had a cute little name, so we thought we should go check it out as we had never been there.

We pull up to the Boat Nook sign and I suggest that my husband take the other children down to check it out. I decided to wait with #5 while he slept; we seem to do a lot of things in shifts due to naps. So off go the rest of the family while #5 snores away and I play Sudoku (I play A LOT of Sudoku – old school, with a pencil and everything!). Everyone comes back, I ask how it is and my husband’s response is “Go take a look.”

Boat Nook, Pender Island, BC, Canada

Well, I stroll on down and take a look. The only word to describe the view is “WOW!”.

Boat Nook, Pender Island, BC, Canada

All I can say is that lighting IS everything. What a beautiful view at the perfect time of day.

About Deb

Photographer, artist and artisan splitting time between Alberta and British Columbia, Canada. Check out my new project at www.handmade-canada.com , a site for Canadian handmades and art.
This entry was posted in Island Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Setting Sun – Boat Nook, Pender Island

  1. Beautiful photographs.

    You captured the light just perfectly.

    Thank you for sharing the stunning images

  2. These are all such great shots of our little island. I’ve only done Boat Nook by kayak, but now you’ve got me wanting to take Susan way up north, and have a look around. Great place to watch orcas as well. By the way, have you tried Craddock Beach yet? One of my, and my dog’s, favourites.

    I’m sorry I’m a bit slow on catching up on the posts. Have had only short times to get on the computer lately.

    • Deb says:

      Craddock is one of our favorites. Funny, I don’t think I have posted any pictures from their yet. We love what we call the “elephant rock’, but then discovered it looked more like a rhino in different light. We actually did our family picture on that beach in November.

      • Interestingly, I went down to Craddock after someone had created a kind of art sculpture with long sticks, kelp and rocks, on what I think you mean by the “elephant rock’. I had my camera that day and took a few pictures. It was almost whimsical.

      • Deb says:

        We came across beach sculpture on Medicine Beach recently too. There were 10 -15 interesting stackings of driftwood. Always something great to discover on the beaches.

Leave a Reply

